Election today across DeSoto
07 Nov

Election today across DeSoto

One of the most contentious national elections in American history will be culminated today with the choosing of the country’s next President along with the down ballot consisting of state and local offices.

Polls will be open today from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. at 39 precincts across DeSoto County.

To view a total of seven separate sample ballots, depending upon the district in which you are located, please visit desotocountyms.gov. Then click on Election Information on the county’s official web site. Search your name and pull up your sample ballot.

Two seats on the DeSoto County School Board are on today’s ballot.

District 1 incumbent Milton Nichols is running unopposed.

District 2 incumbent Steve Dodd did not file to run for re-election.

Candidates Michele Henley, Gail Baptist Lyons and Dr. Juanita Thompson will compete for the open District 2 seat.

Also on the ballot are open seats on the Mississippi Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals, U.S. House of Representative and all five election commissioner districts.

Those running for President are, in alphabetical order, Hillary Clinton and Tim Kaine, the Democratic Party; Donald J. Trump and Michael R. Pence, the Republican Party; Darrell Castle and Scott N. Bradley, Constitution Party; “Rocky” Roque De La Fuente and Michael Steinberg, American Delta Party; Jim Hedges and Bill Bayes, Prohibition Party; Gary Johnson and Bill Weld, Libertarian Party; Jill Stein and Ajamu Baraka, Green Party.

In the U.S. House of Representatives race, First Congressional District, incumbent Trent Kelly faces Jacob Owens of the Democratic Party, Cathy L. Toole of the Reform Party and Chase Wilson of the Libertarian Party.

In nonpartisan judicial elections, candidates on the ballot for Mississippi Supreme Court Justice, District 3, Position 1, are, in alphabetical order, John Brady, Bobby Chamberlin, Steve Crampton and James T. “Jim” Kitchens, Jr. In the District 3, Position 2, Northern District seat for Supreme Court Justice, Justice Jimmy Maxwell is unopposed.

In the District 1, Position 1 Court of Appeals, Jim M. Greenlee is unopposed.

There are contested DeSoto County Election Commission races in District 1 and District 4.

In District 1, incumbent Paul Beale faces Patricia Ann Brady. In District 4, incumbent Sissie Ferguson faces Che Smith. Barry Chatham in District 2 is running unopposed as is Danny Klein in District 3 and Tina Hill in District 5.

Robert Lee Long is Community Editor of the DeSoto Times-Tribune.com He may be contacted at [email protected] or at 662-429-6397, Ext. 252.

Source: http://www.desototimes.com/news/election-today-across-desoto/article_b8574cfc-a550-11e6-9d70-d7292416364c.html

Posted on November 7, 2016 by Robert Lee Long

Comments are closed.