Presidential election headlines many choices today
08 Nov

Presidential election headlines many choices today

The moment many people have been waiting for — the end of the election season — is right around the corner.

Shakopee-area residents join people across the nation as the presidential race headlines Tuesday’s general election. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Shakopee-area voters will see a total of nine choices for president on their ballots. The seven, beyond Democrat Hillary Clinton and Republican Donald Trump, are: Darrell Castle, Constitution Party; Dan R. Vacek, Legal Marijuana Now; Alyson Kennedy, Socialist Workers Party; Jill Stein, Green Party; “Rocky” Roque De La Fuente, American Delta Party; Evan McMullin, Independence Party; and Gary Johnson, Libertarian Party.

They will also choose a member of Congress from the 2nd District to replace the retiring John Kline from among three candidates: Republican Jason Lewis, Democrat Angie Craig and Paula Overby of the Independence Party.

There are also choices for state legislative seats — Senate District 55 and House District 55A. Sen. Eric Pratt, R-Prior Lake, is being challenged by Ali C. Ali, a Shakopee DFLer, in District 55. Pratt is completing his first term. First-term Rep. Bob Loonan, R-Shakopee, will face DFLer Mary Hernandez of Shakopee in District 55A.

Some Shakopee precincts will also choose a Scott County Board representative. People in Precincts 9, 10, 11 and 13 will choose between incumbent Barbara Marschall and challenger Dave Beer, both of Prior Lake. Shakopee residents in Precinct 5 and Jackson and Louisville townships will decide between incumbent Joe Wagner and Barb Weckman Brekke.

Voters statewide will also decide on a constitutional amendment to remove state lawmakers’ power to set their own pay. (Failure to vote on the amendment is the same as voting “no.”)

State voters will also vote on state judicial posts. Only one in contested. Supreme Court Justice Natalie Hudson, the incumbent, is being challenged by Michelle MacDonald. Nine state appeals court judges are running without opposition, as are 16 state District Court judges.

Township voters will also choose supervisors and town clerks and there will also be a vote for Soil and Water Conservation District supervisor.


Posted on November 8, 2016 by Pat Minelli

Comments are closed.