Residents vote for more than president on Tuesday
02 Nov

Residents vote for more than president on Tuesday

Though it may seem the presidential election is the only seat the American public is voting on Tuesday, there are actually several other offices for which Bolivar Countians will decide.

Registered voters in the county will also cast their ballots for a number of judicial positions, election commissioners, a U.S. House seat and a position for the North Bolivar Consolidated School Board.

“The 2016 General Election will conclude the busy election year for Bolivar County citizens as well as for the election commission, which will conduct the General Election on Nov. 8,” said Bolivar County Circuit Clerk Marilyn Kelly.

The election commissioners are David Washington, District I; Billy Davis, District II; Sheila Perry, District III; Yvonne Hannah, District IV; and Ora Jackson, District V. Each of their names will appear on Tuesday’s ballot as they are running unopposed for their respective seat.

“They have been working diligently to ensure a smooth election by updating the voter roll and training poll workers,” said Kelly.

“As circuit clerk, I cannot emphasize enough to voters to once again, please prepare early by contacting the circuit clerk’s office if you do not have a photo ID. Getting a Voter ID made in the circuit clerk’s office only takes minutes and the ID can only be used for voting purposes.

“Even though the polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., voters should still take into consideration the ‘peak’ times — 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. — for voting to avoid any delay,” she advised.

Kelly said the General Election typically brings a low voter turnout.

“Compared to where we were four years ago (2012) in the presidential election, the circuit clerk’s office (Cleveland and Rosedale courthouses), has seen less absentee voting this year, so we are try to encourage voters to ‘GET OUT THE VOTE’ so they can finalize electing their candidates,” she said.

In addition to the election commissioners, voters will select presidential electors for seven presidential and vice presidential candidates.

Presidential electors are for Hillary Clinton for president and Tim Kaine for vice president, Democrat; Donald J. Trump for president and Michael R. Pence for vice president, Republican; Darrell Castle for president and Scott N. Bradley for vice president, Constitution; ‘Rocky’ Roque De La Fuente for president and Michael Steinberg for vice president, American Delta; Jim Hedges for president and Bill Bayes for vice president, Prohibition; Gary Johnson for president and Bill Weld for vice president, Libertarian; and Jill Stein for president and Ajamu Baraka for vice president, Green.

According to the dictionary, presidential electors meet after citizens cast ballots for the president and vice president. Each state is granted the same number of electors as it has senators and representatives combined.

The National Archives and Records Administration explains electors are selected prior to the General Election and usually vote the way of the popular vote. In Mississippi, both state law and party pledge bind electors to cast their vote according to the will of the people.

Running for U.S. House of Representatives 2nd Congressional District are John Bouie II, Republican; Bennie G. Thompson, Democrat; Johnny McLeod, Reform and Troy Ray, Independent.

On the ballot for Supreme Court Justice, District 1, Position 3 are Kenny Griffis and Jim Kitchens. This seat is non-partisan.

Vying for Court Of Appeals, District 2, Position 2 are Ceola James and Latrice Westbrooks. This is also non-partisan.

All other judicial categories on the ballot are unopposed.

There are two candidates running for a seat on the North Bolivar Consolidated School Board. They are Tyrone D. Miller Sr. and Glen Scott.

To find out more information about voter ID, elections and voting in Bolivar County, please visit our web at:


02 Nov 2016 Written by Denise Strub

Comments are closed.