Five running for three school board seats
13 Sep

Five running for three school board seats

The Union County Circuit Clerk’s office saw some last-minute activity Friday as the 5 p.m. deadline approached for county and city school board candidates to qualify to run.

Of the three who had already qualified, one will be elected unopposed, one picked up an opponent and one decided to withdraw from the race.

In the county school board races, Second County School District member and incumbent Mickey Basil drew no opponents.

The other incumbent, Terry Cook, from the First County School District, will see a challenger: Jessie Howell.

It was Buddy Hall who decided to withdraw from the New Albany school board race, but he was replaced by two newcomers, David Rainey and Lisa Parker.

More information about the candidates will be in an upcoming story.

All five county school trustees are elected and the three not on the ballot this year are Mike Browning, Third District; Daphnia McMillen, Fourth District; and Wayne Mahon, Fifth District.

Only the city school board member from the added territory outside the city is elected. That has been Jerry Tate, who is retiring. The four board-appointed New Albany school trustees are Matt Harris, Penny Blissett, Jill Shaw and Brad Clayton.

It’s now less than two months to the Nov. 8 general election and Circuit Clerk Phyllis Stanford said her office will be open from 8 a.m. until noon Saturday, Oct. 8, because that will be the last day to register to vote on Nov. 8. This will also be the last day one can update voter registration in case he or she has moved or undergone a name change.

Failure to update information can lead to delays in voting.

Absentee ballots are scheduled to be available about 45 days before the election, or about the end of September.

Stanford said her office is already taking requests for absentee ballots.

Another local race to be on the Nov. 8 ballot concerns the Union County Election Commission. Only five people have qualified for candidacy so they will be elected, unopposed. Four are incumbents and a fifth is in the district where the incumbent decided not to run.

That retiring commissioner is Graham Spencer from the First District and the person who has qualified for that vacancy is Wes Creighton.

The other four qualifiers and incumbents are Bill Azlin, Second District; Barbara Reed, Third District; T. Michael Beam, Fourth District; and Wayne Wilhite, Fifth District.

Also on the local level, a special election will be added to the ballot to choose someone to replace Chancery Court Judge Talmadge Littlejohn, who died earlier this year. T. K. Moffett was appointed to serve in his place until the election and appears to be the only candidate for that seat.

On the district level, Republican Trent Kelly’s House seat will be on the ballot. Kelly was elected after the death of Alan Nunnelly. According to the secretary of state’s office, he will be challenged by Democrat Jacob Owens, Libertarian Chase Wilson and Reform Candidate Cathy L. Toole.

And, finally, some state Supreme Court seats will be listed as well. In this area, Jim Kitchens is the candidate for Supreme Court District 1, Place 3, along with Kenny Griffis.

The secretary of state’s office released a list this week of those who have qualified to be on the state ballot for president.

They include Hillary Clinton, Democratic Party; Donald J. Trump, Republican Party; Darrell Castle, Constitution Party; Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, American Delta Party; Jim Hedges, Prohibition Party; Gary Johnson, Libertarian Party; Jill Stein, Green Party; and Barbara Dale Washer, Reform Party.


Author: Lynn West on September 13, 2016

Comments are closed.