Voter’s Guide for races in Northeast Arkansas and Southeast Missouri
05 Oct

Voter’s Guide for races in Northeast Arkansas and Southeast Missouri

The Nov. 8 general election will include a large ballot as the deadline quickly approaches for people in Arkansas and Missouri to register to vote.

Voters in Arkansas have until 5 p.m. Oct. 10 to register with the Secretary of State’s office while Missouri voters have until 5 p.m. Oct. 12 to register.

As for political races, Northeast Arkansas voters will decide a presidential race, a United States Senate race as well as a United States House race. Missouri voters will also decide a Governor’s race, a United States Senate race and a United States House race.

The federal and statewide races in Arkansas include:

President of the United States – Republican Donald Trump, Democrat Hillary Clinton, Libertarian Gary Johnson, Green Party candidate Jill Stein, Constitution Party candidate Darrell Lane Castle and independents Lynn Kahn, Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, Tom Hoeffling, Jim Hedges, and Evan McMullin.
United States Senate – Incumbent Republican Sen. John Boozman, Democrat Conner Eldridge, Libertarian Frank Gilbert, and write-in candidate Jason Tate.
United States House, District 1 – Incumbent Republican Rep. Rick Crawford, and Libertarian Mark West.
The federal and major statewide races in Missouri include:

United States Senate – Incumbent Republican Sen. Roy Blunt, Democratic Secretary of State Jason Kander, Libertarian Jonathan Dine, and Constitution Party candidate Fred Ryman.
United States House, District 8 – Incumbent Republican Rep. Jason Smith, Democrat Dave Cowell, and Libertarian Jonathan Shell.
Governor – Republican Eric Greitens, Democratic Attorney General Chris Koster, and Libertarian Cisse Spragins.
Voters in Northeast Arkansas will decide several state legislative, county and city races this November.

Among the state legislative races are seven in the Arkansas House and one in the Arkansas Senate.

The Arkansas legislative races are:

House District 44 – Republican Rep. Joe Farrer and Libertarian Garry Baker.
House District 49 – Democratic Rep. Marshall Wright and Republican Steve Hollowell.
House District 54 – Republican Johnny Rye and Democrat Hunter Williams.
House District 57 – Republican Jimmy Gazaway and Democrat Frankie Gilliam.
House District 58 – Republican Rep. Brandt Smith and Democrat Nate Looney.
House District 60 – Democratic Rep. James Ratliff and Republican Fran Cavenaugh.
House District 61 – Democratic Rep. Scott Baltz, Republican Clifford Marshall “Marsh” Davis, and Libertarian Christopher A. Olson.
Senate District 22 – Democratic Sen. David Burnett and Rep. Dave Wallace, R.
The Missouri legislative races are:

House District 149 – Republican Rep. Dan Rone and Democrat Brantley Atchley.
House District 150 – Republican Rep. Andrew McDaniel and Democrat Lena Stanford.
House District 153 – Republican Rep. Steve Cookson and Democrat Matt Michel.
Senate District 25 – Republican Sen. Doug Libla and Democrat Bill Burlison.
Arkansas voters will also decide seven proposed constitutional amendments and initiated acts, ranging from two dealing with medical marijuana to a measure allowing casinos in three counties in Arkansas.

In addition to numerous county races, Jonesboro voters will cast ballots for mayor. The candidates include incumbent Mayor Harold Perrin and challengers Nathan Coleman, Amanda Dunavant, Thomas Elwood, former State Rep. Harold Copenhaver, and council member John Street.

Also, voters in Jonesboro, Paragould, Hoxie, Walnut Ridge, Harrisburg, Trumann, Batesville, Pocahontas, Blytheville, Osceola, and West Memphis will decide city council races.

Arkansas voters can register to vote at their county clerk’s office or by printing, filling out a voter application, and mailing the application to the Secretary of State’s office in Little Rock.

Missouri voters can visit the Secretary of State’s website to register to vote.

Both Arkansas and Missouri have apps that can be used to find out where to vote as well as who is on the ballot.

Copyright 2016 KAIT. All rights reserved.


Posted by Region 8 Newsdesk, Digital
Published: Wednesday, October 5th 2016, 2:04 pm CST

Comments are closed.